Skip to main content



The York Institute for Health Research aims to connect students with meaningful health research experience through the YIHR Student Committee, Health Tomorrow Journal and our research projects. Every year the YIHR Student Committee organizes the YIHR Annual Symposium in the Spring.

For more information about how to get involved, please contact:
Amanda Turner, YIHR Graduate Student Representative:
Janany Jeyasundaram, YIRH Undergraduate Student Representative:

Our student members include:

YIHR Student Committee

Amanda Turner, YIHR Graduate Student Representative
Janany Jeyasundaram, YIHR Undergraduate Student Representative
Elaine Cagliostro, Graduate Assistant, YIHR Communications
Fionna Bernabe
Emanuel  Ebrahim
Sara-Jane Linton
Farhiya Mohamed
Rahat Hossain
Abid Azam
Sabiha Ahmad

Health Tomorrow Journal

Hilda Catherine, Editorial team (present)
Natalie Spagnuolo, Editorial team (present)
Ciann Larose Wilson, Editorial team (2012-present)
Ellen Sweeney, Editorial team (2012-2014)
Navindra S Baldeo, Editorial team (2011-2014)
Julia Brassolotto, Editorial team (2011-2013)
Tanweer Peerbocus, Graduate Assistant, YIHR Health Tomorrow Journal

Research Assistants

Adelaide Boachie-Danquah, MA
Patrick Mbullo, MA
Fardoso Warsome, MA
Mariyam Zaidi, MA


Tara Bittles
Josie Hughes
Lorianne Donato


Ruth Lowndes, Post-doc
Justin Panos, Grad Student
Chermay Espino, Work/study student


Alexis Buettgen
Nadia Chowdhury
Dana Corfield
Cameron Crawford
Natalie Spagnuolo
Laura Vukson

Taking Action

Renee Monachalin, MA
Ciann Wilson, PhD

Graduate Research Association of Students in Public Health (GRASP) is our collaborative partner.

Updated on April 6th, 2015.